ATIS releases five IPTV standards

The Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) said it has completed the first phase of its three-part IPTV standards work plan, and it has announced five new standards in support of an IPTV foundational framework. The group's IPTV Interoperability Forum (IIF) focused on standardization of linear IPTV services during Phase 1.

The ATIS IIF already has started on Phase 2, which targets interactive TV and on-demand applications, and Phase 3 is about two years away. According to an ATIS press release, the Phase 1 documents to be found at the ATIS Document Center include:

  • IPTV Linear TV Service (ATIS-0800018), which establishes IPTV's fundamental building blocks for expansion into more advanced services, including pay-per-view and next-generation gaming.
  • IPTVConsumer Domain Device Configuration Metadata (ATIS-0800022), which specifies the data structures (metadata) required to provide basic information needed to acquire IPTV content.
  • Media Formats and Protocols for IPTV Services (ATIS-0800013), which is a comprehensive listing of the protocols and media formats required for the implementation of IPTV-related services.
  • IPTV Terminal Metadata Specification (ATIS-0800029), which defines the data structure that facilitates the exchange of user-related data and the IPTV devices.
  • Fault Codes for IPTV (ATIS-0800028), which includes a categorized listing of fault codes for IPTV functions and components.

For more:
- Here's the full ATIS press release

Related articles
ATIS announced a new IPTV standard last October
ATIS released a high-level IPTV document in June 2007