SCTE expands engineering committee to 15 members, gets ANSI reaccreditation

The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers announced Thursday that his has expanded its engineering committee to 15 members. The org also announced the reaccreditation of its standards program by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

Now under the direction of Liberty Global technology executive Bill Warga, the SCTE's Engineering Committee will include, for the first time, chairs for each of its five standards subcommittees: Data, Digital Video, Interface Practices, Network Operations and Energy Management.

The cable tech trade org says the expansion and reconfiguration is necessary to keep up with the quickening pace of cable technology development.

"Including subcommittee chairs on the Engineering Committee ensures that all of the key players in standards have a voice in, and visibility into, the entire development process," Warga said

Meanwhile, a key component of the SCTE's ANSI reaccreditation includes a ballot cycle that has been halved to two weeks from four to accommodate the fast pace of cable tech development.

By expanding the number of individuals and companies involved in the prioritization of standards work and by shortening the approval time, we're able to accelerate availability of standards that best answer the global needs of the cable industry," said Dean Stoneback, senior director, engineering for SCTE and its global brand, the International Society of Broadband Experts (ISBE). 

In addition to Warga, the SCTE lists 16 tech execs as members of its Engineering Committee, although two have advisory roles. It's unclear who is the new member.

The Engineering Committee members: Tom Cloonan, Arris; Richard Prodan, Broadcom; Joe Jensen, Buckeye CableSystem; Ralph Brown, CableLabs; Nick Segura, Charter Communications; Ron Hranac, Cisco Systems; Theresa Hennesy (advisor) and Jerry Parkins, Comcast; Kevin Gantt, CommScope; Andy Scott (advisor), NCTA; George Hart, Rogers Communications; Dan Cooper, Time Warner Cable; Craig Cuttner, Time Warner, Inc.; Paul Hearty, Sony Electronics; Eric Eby, Suddenlink Communications; and David Fellows, Consultant.

For more:
- read this SCTE press release

Related links:
Howard steps down as SCTE CTO, moves to new role as org fellow
Up to 83% of cable industry power use comes from headend, hub HFC network, SCTE says
SCTE Cable-Tec Expo attendance down 7 percent to 9,100