Tegna names Howard Elias as chairman, appoints NBCU veteran Stuart Epstein to board

With Epstein’s election, Tegna now has 12 directors. (Pixabay)

Tegna has named Howard Elias as the new nonexecutive chairman of its board. Elias will take over for Marjorie Magner, who is retiring after serving as a director of the company since 2006 and as chairman since 2011.

Elias will assume the chairman role after the company’s annual shareholders meeting on April 26. He currently serves as president of digital and IT at Dell Services

“For the past six years, I have seen up close the immeasurable impact Marge has had on our company. She has been invaluable throughout TEGNA’s transformation and has always done what’s best for our employees, customers and communities. I know I have big shoes to fill. I want to thank Marge for her many years of outstanding service to TEGNA and wish her well,” said Elias in a statement. “I am honored to build on Marge’s legacy and look forward to working with Dave and his leadership team, our Board and employees to serve our customers, shareholders and the greater good of our communities.”

Tegna has also appointed Stuart Epstein, a co-managing partner at Evolution Media and former executive vice president and chief financial officer of NBCUniversal, to its board.

RELATED: Tegna Q3 revenues drop 11%

“[Epstein’s] combination of media, technology and financial experience will help TEGNA successfully navigate the opportunities that lie ahead. Stuart is well-known and well-liked within the financial community and his counsel and expertise will help ensure Tegna is innovating, transforming and creating value for shareholders,” said Magner.

“[Epstein] knows our industry well and has extensive transaction and strategic experience at a large media company. As Tegna continues to examine strategic opportunities for organic and inorganic growth, Stuart will be an important voice helping guide our company forward,” said Tegna President and CEO Dave Lougee.

With Epstein’s election, Tegna now has 12 directors.